Peace Camp

Now my plan is to set up a peace camp here in Sulaymaniyeh in Northern Iraq and talk to people for about one month or so, then I’ll have enough time to reflect on what I have to do next and also maybe put back on some weight I have lost on my journey and, hopefully, my mum will be able to visit me from four hours away in Iran.

My nephew luckily is working here and he is providing his laptop to me to do communication with friends from Occupy in UK, and also to write for my blog.

Today despite heavy rain here I walked one hour to see the Governor of the city of Sulaymaniyah and I asked him to help me with allocating a park for my peace camp for the duration that I am here, because I told him “last night your security forces has removed me from a place called High Hills near UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees agency) because they thought I am compromising their security”, and I also told him I want to extend my stay so my mum can come and see me here, and he said he will consider all these points.

From Occupy London I have a peace flag from Phoenix and also I have a white flag I made on my 2009 march from north to south London which is written on it “world march for peace and non-violence”. It was after the banks collapsed in 2008, and hearing all the stories of financial crisis which made me so upset, that I began thinking I must do something and so I did that march and set up something called the Earthian Unite Forum which I have never managed to get people around me to fully involve with. Then in 2011, after joining Occupy the London Stock Exchange camp, the idea of a peace walk around the Middle East and the world came to me.

For now Occupy Peace Camp in the city of Sulaymaniyah is a lonely tent under a bridge called Khasrow Khal. It is very noisy until 1am, so I can sleep mostly between 2-4am.

I am travelling around the world, for peace, using zero carbon and zero money.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Peace Mission, To the Middle East
One comment on “Peace Camp

Leave a Reply

